sick day

I’m on vacation, and haven’t been sick in a long while, but ended up in rough shape this morning – I’ll be discrete and call it a “stomach bug.” Better now, but the plumbing is still off.

On days like today, I usually struggle to find music I can live with, and usually don’t, including most of Van Morrison’s  “Astral Weeks” while I sat outside a doctor’s office waiting for a family member. I’m reading Greil Marcus’s book about Morrison, “When The Rough God Goes Riding,” but it didn’t give me a way into “Astral Weeks,” not today. It’s obviously beautiful, but I’ll be damned if it just doesn’t move me, don’t ask me why.

Anyway, with soured stomach and bowels I retreated to spoken word. I have the Stitcher app on my Android tablet. For the life of me, I don’t understand Stitcher; I think it’s supposed to be some kind of personal playlist for whatever audio you’re interested in besides music, but how to use it well eludes me. I just clicked on it, lay down and let whatever was there play. So I heard stuff from public radio and CBS tv audio and maybe one of the other networks as well. I’m guessing you’re supposed to train it in your likes and dislikes, but I prefer direct, hands-on control.

Stitcher was followed by this week’s “Windows Weekly,” lots of semi-interesting stuff about the 8.1 update to Windows Phone, and then part of “All Things Considered.”

Tonight, Pristine Classical’s radio channel. I found out about Pristine through a write-up on Kirkville, and a second one in the New Yorker. It’s very old classical music recordings, cleaned up using some interesting techniques. Having been on the wrong end of RCA/BMG restorations of Ellington, Jelly Roll Morton and Sidney Bechet in the 80s, I’m skeptical, but whatever they do seems to work.

Leave a Reply

