nook gets hook?

The New York Times reports Barnes & Noble is rethinking its reliance on its ‘Nook’ line of tablets and e-readers.

 “They are not completely getting out of the hardware business, but they are going to lean a lot more on the comprehensive digital catalog of content,” said this person, who asked not to be identified discussing corporate strategy.

On Thursday, the person said, the company will emphasize its commitment to intensify partnerships with other tablet producers like Microsoft and Samsung to make deals for content that it controls.

I had a $100 B & N gift card from Christmas and found it kind of hard to spend. I really like ebooks more than the physical kind these days, but what if I buy ebooks from Barnes & Noble, the company goes under and somewhere down the line I can’t get access to what I bought because of DRM problems? I don’t worry so much if I’m buying from Amazon.

On the other hand, physical books from B & N tend to be a lot more expensive than their counterparts on Amazon, so that doesn’t work either.

I ended up buying a couple of ebooks, a physical book for my wife, a book and a cd for myself, and I have a little money left over.

The real problem with digital anything combined with DRM is that once you start worrying about a company’s future, your incentive to buy from that company drops like a rock. You don’t want to be the guy with 150 books on his Nook Simple Touch and no way to read them.

Leave a Reply

