full service (listening, day 6 – part 1)

James Brown: The Singles Volume 6 (1966-67)

The more I listen to JB the more I understand that he was a ‘family’ of recording artists, appearing most often under his own name, but with assorted sub-groups and partners and spin-offs.  I thought that idea mostly belonged to Parliament/Funkadelic.

(Well, it goes back further than that, to the Johnny Otis Show, for one.)

Also: since I don’t know my JB very well, I thought the break to funk was clean. Not so: he continued recording more or less conventional blues and pop tunes. He was your Full Service Number 1 Soul Brother in the mid/late 60s, with a little something for everyone.

Leave a Reply

