in one ear…(listening, day 6 – part 2)

A sleepy day as I recover from surgery, so other than the JB singles noted this morning, not much has been listened to.

I did hear a few things – tonight it was the Naxos recording of the John Adams violin concerto and earlier I played Fred Hersch’s recent Live at Jazz Standard and Curtis Fuller’s I Will Tell Her, but it was strictly background stuff. Plus a smattering of Sirius radio, in which I listened to some smart, knowledgeable guys talk about Bruce Springsteen in the 90s.

I’m sure it would have made for great reading. As talk, not so much – there’s always something awkward about discussing music. My experience is, what reads well on paper sounds pretentious when said out loud.

Leave a Reply

