school daze

I’m uniquely qualified to comment on the state of university education in America having a.) gotten to the age of 54 without one b.) having very big loans for the education one of my children received and c.) dealing every day with young people who received a large university education/vocational training.

I am jaundiced on this subject: from where I sit, college education generally doesn’t work, or doesn’t work as well as I think it should. Mind you, some of my best friends are teachers.

I think Andrew Hacker and Claudia Dreifus have answers. Everything in this interview rang true to my aging, uneducated ears.

(Note: I found the links in both this post and the preceding one from slashdot, which remains, after all these years, important on the internet.)

Leave a Reply

